What’s All The Fuss?

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while now.  The track below gets played a hell of a lot on the radio and everybody is raving about this remix, but I just don’t get it. I’m a big fan of Gil Scott-Heron – from first hearing The Bottle, and playing it to death as a DJ in the mid 80s, to seeing him live @ the Powerhouse (I think that was the club’s name at the time) in 1985, up to his latest album I’m New Here, which is probably my favourite album of last year. The Jamie XX remix of I’ll Take Care Of You just doesn’t work, in my opinion. The vocal and backing track do not sit well together. Don’t get me wrong, I love a remix as much as the next guy, or gal, but I don’t think this remix does Gil Scott-Heron any favours. I’m also a big fan of The XX. So my ears should be lovin it, but they ain’t!

Am I missing something? Do I need to hear it on a big sound system?

The Original…



‘I’ll Take Care Of You’ by Gil Scott-Heron (XL Recordings 2010)

Buy Here.

The Original of the title track… (this is a great album, by the way.)

‘I’m New Here’ by Smog (Domino 2005)

Buy Here.

3 responses to “What’s All The Fuss?

  1. I’m with you on this one Dick. With the exception of “NY Is Killing Me” (which sounds great on a big system), I’m not really feeling anything on this album. Plenty of other people clearly are though, judging by the hype!

  2. I am with you on this as well. I much prefer the original album which was one of my albums of last year, as was Anais Mitchell – Hadestown. She is playing the HH in June, can I get you away from your pipe and slippers for it? We must also get a game in before the end of the season.

  3. Pingback: R.I.P. Gil Scott-Heron | R. WHITTINGHAM

Leave a Reply

