R.I.P. Nickolas Ashford and Jerry Leiber

Two American black music greats died this week, Jerry Leiber and Nick Ashford. Here’s a few of the classics they co-wrote with their partners; “Hound Dog“, “Jailhouse Rock“, “Kansas City“, “Stand By Me” (with Ben E. King), “On Broadway” (with Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil). “Let’s Go Get Stoned“, “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough“, “You’re All I Need To Get By“, “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing“, “Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hand)“. Even though I may not have been into some of the songs above, it’s music that I’ve grown up with.

Now, everyone has a song that they like, but shouldn’t. Well, here’s one of those songs from my collection. It took me awhile to find it, and I almost gave up, thinking that I’d given it to the local charity shop, but I’m glad I didn’t…POWER BALLAD FANS REJOICE!!

Solid by Ashford & Simpson (Capitol 1984)

Download Here.

And a great Ashford & Simpson song by one of my favourite female singers…

I’m Every Woman by Chaka Khan (Warner Brothers 1978/89)

Download Here.

Ashford & Simpson.

Chaka Khan.

Jerry Leiber.

Leave a Reply

