Choon (and film)of the Day

I heard this on the radio the other day…

Wand’rin Star by Ben Rumson (Lee Marvin) (Paramount 1969)

And oh boy, what childhood memories I have of this song, and film. I remember watching Paint Your Wagon for the first time, I must have been about 10 years old, and instantly falling in love with it. I begged my dad to buy the soundtrack, which I still have to this day….but after digging it out, I’ve discovered I was slightly hoodwinked –  This album is not the original soundtrack, but a cover version…

Non the wiser, I played this album over and over and learnt every word of every song, and to this day I still know most the lyrics, even though I haven’t heard it in a very long time.

But whilst searching for the above I found this one first and thought – I don’t remember the cover looking like this….

Now, I didn’t know I had this particular album, but I’m so happy I have it as it is the original soundtrack.

If you haven’t seen this film, or heard the soundtrack, then try and watch it over the holidays. It’s a classic!

Leave a Reply

