Random Selection #4

Whilst diggin’ through the crates I found this David Porter album, and there’s a little story behind how I discovered it.

I bought a lot of Hip Hop records throughout the 80’s and most of the 90’s – most of it from New York, (I was starting to feel the West Coast sound by the end of the 80’s, to the horror of my fellow DJ Ian ‘Bad Boy Bill’ Reaney). One particular East Coast producer that appealed to my ears at the time was Sean ‘Puffy’ Combs (although, in my opinion, his sound became more West Coast). Anyway, one particular 12″ single, Big Poppa by The Notorious B.I.G., included the track Who Shot Ya?, which sampled I’m Afraid The Masquerade Is Over by David Porter. I remember myself and Bill lovin’ this track, in particular the sample used. So, the hunt was on to find the original source material, which I tracked down at the good old Diskery…

Image

I’m Afraid The Masquerade Is Over by David Porter from the album Victim Of The Joke? An Opera (Stax 1974)

Download I’m Afraid The Masquerade Is Over. (for a limited period only)

I was going to include the Biggie Smalls track in this post too, but I really don’t like the subject matter, or all the profanities (how things change!), which are almost every other word…

…I Ain’t Into That…

I Ain’t Into That by The Rappin’ Reverend Dr. C. Dexter Wise, III (Cooltempo 1987)

Download Here. (for a limited period only)

A website worth checkin’ if you’re a trainspotter:-  http://www.whosampled.com/

Leave a Reply

