My First Reggae Record

I was 16 years old when I first heard this record, and I’d not heard Reggae like it before. Of course I’d heard Bob Marley on the radio, and there was one Reggae record in our house – Clint Eastwood by The Upsetters – which my eldest brother owned, due to the fact that he’d become a Skinhead, in the late 60s, and I think it was a bit of a Skinhead anthem. Anyway, in 1977 I discovered Punk and a few of the elder pupils at my school were into the scene and were frequenting a club called Barbarellas. I left school in late 77 and  straight into a job and my own disposable income, but had to squeeze a few quid out of my mom so that I could buy a Punk outfit – a pair of very tight drain-pipe jeans, a black and white striped T-shirt and a pair of clear plastic sandals. I felt the bees knees, but I didn’t know if I’d get the thumbs-up from the ‘elders’, but I was soon to find out. The older Punks used to meet, on a Friday night, at a pub called the Buccaneer, I’m not sure what it’s called now, and was situated at the entrance of Elmdon Airport (now Birmingham International Airport).  I walked from my parents house to the pub, which was about 6 miles, nervously opened the pub door and stepped in. Fortunately I was greeted with open arms and accepted into the fold. I was given a few tips about how to get across town without getting my head kicked in, knocked back a pint of Mild, and then jumped on the bus to town. What a buzz this all was – a 16 year old breaking the law and discovering a scene that opened my eyes to a whole new world, which set me on a path to a career as a DJ and a maker of music.

Cokane In My Brain by Dillinger (Black Swan/Island Records 1976)

Download Cokane In My Brain (for a limited period only)

The building the Buccaneer was situated in.

Barbarellas

A nice post on Barbs.

Leave a Reply

