Free School X Yours Truly

I mentioned a few posts back that I’d been invited onto Free School’s podcast. Well, here it is. It was great fun and a real joy to talk about the past and of course, music, which I’ve always loved sharing with people, be it in my house, behind the decks in a club….or talking to two very nice men with a microphone. I’m hoping to do it again sometime, and Adam Regan may get a look in too – watch this space.

I’m afraid you’ll have to cut and paste the link below. I’ve tried to embed the player, and paste a link,  but to no avail. Thanks Steve for trying too.

http://wearefreeschool.podomatic.com/entry/2012-10-22T08_37_11-07_00

I talked about Original Rockers first live show, but as always with my addled brain I couldn’t remember too much about it, only that it was in London. Well, my old pal Andy Jones got in touch and this is what he said…

Alright Dick,

I’ve just had a listen to your interview by Free school. Bought back some good memories. I noticed you were struggling to remember the details of the first ‘Original Rockers Hi-Fi’ gig. I just so happen to have the flyer for it on my notice board in the kitchen. I’ll scan it and send it to you when I’ve got my computer set up again. I’m about to do a bit of painting so I’ve disconnected it all.

The night was called ‘Dubology’ and it was promoted as your first ever live UK appearance. ‘Bassline selection’ was courtesy of Danny Briotet of Renegade Soundwave and Launch DAT. The venue was the Vox in Brixton and the date was Thursday 28th July 1994. I would have been 32. Crikey.

Hope you’re well. See you again soon I hope.

Andy.

I also remember that it was promoted by John Pell (where are you now, John?), who also booked us to play in New Zealand – now there’s another story!

Leave a Reply

