The Hyman Archive

I’ve not long climbed out of a deep dark pit – one reason why there’s been a distincted lack of posts – which I’ll go into a little bit more detail later.

I first read about The Hyman Archive here, but since then it’s come on quite a bit…

I’ve always loved a magazine. The above film reminds me of when I was 10 years old standing on the front door step, waiting in anticipation for the postman to deliver the monthly Young Ornithologist Club magazine and if my memory serves me correctly, it was called Bird Life, which I’d subscribed to. I love the fact that I can pick a mag up, say in my dentists waiting room and casually flick through it, stopping at an article, or photo/image that catches my eye, to settling down on the sofa reading the whole damn thing from front to back and back again.

The DJ in me said I should include this band, a favourite of mine from the late 70’s early 8os, in this post. A very poignant track too, considering the weather the UK is experiencing at the moment. I also like this tracks Northern Soul sensibility.

IMG_1526

About The Weather by Magazine (Virgin Records 1981)

Download About The Weather (for a short period only)

Magazine’s first single, Shot By Both Sides, would have to be one of my desert island discs.

Leave a comment